Nebo's Sixth Annual Elementary Keyboarding Competition

Submitted by lana.hiskey on Tue, 04/26/2022 - 16:56
Nebo Keyboarding Winners
Nebo Keyboarding Winners
Nebo Keyboarding Winners
Nebo Keyboarding Winners
Nebo Keyboarding Winners
Nebo Keyboarding Winners
Keyboarding Art City
Keyboarding Art City
Keyboarding Art City

Nebo School District’s Sixth Annual Elementary Keyboarding Competition was held last week on April 19-20 at each elementary school in the district. Students were tested by their school's keyboarding specialist to qualify to participate.  Approximately 650 students were selected to participate on the basis of their keyboarding speed and accuracy. All First Place winners received $100.  Second Place winners received $75.  Third Place winners received $50. Fourth Place winners received $25.  And 5th through 15th placers received $10.

Thanks so much to Nebo Credit Union for their continued support in donating the prize money. Each year, Nebo Credit Union provides money for the top four awards in each grade level. In addition to cash prizes, this year, gold spray-painted keyboards were given to the top fourth- and fifth-grade keyboarder from each elementary school.

Nebo’s Elementary Keyboarding Program consists of 20 days of introduction to proper keyboarding in the third grade, 50 days of intense training and skill building in the fourth grade, and 18 days of speed building and accuracy building in the fifth grade.  The classes are taught by eight certified teachers who each teach at multiple schools each year.

Nebo School District's Elementary Keyboarding Team
Christine Blazzard: Sierra Bonita, Rees, Meadow Brook, Spanish Oaks;
Laurel Mills: Apple Valley, Goshen, Santaquin, Orchard Hills;
Kim Clyde: Cherry Creek, Art City, Hobble Creek, Brockbank;
Colleen Sircable: Mapleton, Westside, Maple Ridge, Park;
Jen Teemant: Brookside, East Meadows, Canyon, Mt. Loafer;
Lorraine Tuttle: Park View, Taylor, Spring Lake, Wilson, Barnett;
Patty Holt: Foothills, Larsen, Riverview; and
April Williams: Salem, Sage Creek.

Some really great keyboarding took place last week! The highest score was 119 words per minute with 6 errors. Below is a list of the fourth and fifth grade students who received awards at the end of the competition.

Fourth-Grade Winners 
Place – Name – School
1 – April Christiansen – Mapleton
2 – Bentley Garns – Sierra Bonita
3 – Kyler Parker – Riverview
4 – Brookelyn Powell – Riverview
5 – Leah Hafen – Hobble Creek
6 – Taizyl Tomlinson – Spanish Oaks
7 – Calvin Thorpe – Mapleton
8 – William Musil – Art City
9 – Keith Spendlove – Art City
10 – Taliah Rymer – Riverview
11 – Mason Peery – Riverview
12 – Hattie Hendricks – Meadow Brook
13 – Dwayne Rubio – East Meadows
14 – Isaac Payne – Sage Creek
15 – Andrew Sharp – Riverview
Fifth-Grade Winners
Place – Name – School
1 – Eli Croshaw – Sage Creek
2 – Tristen Lott – Spanish Oaks
3 – Zoey Angeles – Rees
4 – Calvin Sweat – Hobble Creek
5 – Amber Ludlow – Santaquin
6 – Noah Jensen – Hobble Creek
7 – George Nelson – Mt. Loafer
8 – Samwise Eastland – Brockbank
9 – Aaron Salazar – Sage Creek
10 – Landon Robbins – Orchard Hills
11 – Kai Peterson – Hobble Creek
12 – Alex Mateaki – Westside
13 – Jocelyn Hurst – Foothills
14 – Analia Pelayo – Riverview
15 – Oliver Goates – Westside

#RiseUp #NeboHero #NeboSchoolDistrict #StudentSuccess #EmpowerStudents #EngageStudents #FocusOnStudents #LoveUTpublicSchools #UtPol #UtEd #ThankATeacher #LoveTeaching

By Lana Hiskey